FE Community

FE Community - Further Education, Skills & Employability Communication Network

Deaf Communication Champions Celebrated As National Finalists Revealed

Judges of one of the most prestigious awards in the deaf calendar are a step closer to finding their unsung heroes of 2012 as they announced their national shortlist.

The 2012 Signature Annual Awards has now revealed the 20 shortlisted nominees in the five competitive national award categories - celebrating the individuals and organisations leading the field in deaf communications across the UK and Ireland.

Hosted by leading awarding body Signature, each year the awards recognise those who have made an outstanding contribution to the deaf community through their dedicated efforts to overcome communication barriers that deaf and deafblind people regularly encounter.

Jim Edwards, Chief Executive at Signature, said: “What makes the Signature Annual Awards so special is that every nominee has been put forward by their peers and members of the community – the people who have seen first hand how their commitment and dedication in improving the lives of other people has made a real difference.

“Every nomination that we have received has highlighted the amazing stories of how our country’s unsung heroes are raising awareness of the communication needs of deaf and deafblind people, while also helping to create a society in which the deaf and deafblind communities are able to enjoy full access.

“The 2012 Signature Annual Awards offer the perfect opportunity to celebrate the unrivalled passion and determination of all these individuals and organisations, and to showcase the exceptional work being done across the country.”

The shortlisted nominees for the national awards have been handpicked from across the UK and Ireland in the following categories:
Young Learner of the Year
Community Spirit
Organisational Achievement
Communication Professional of the Year
Centre of the Year

Additionally, Signature’s national Teacher of the Year and national Learner of the Year will be selected from the regional finalists in these categories.

The 2012 Signature Annual Awards also marks Signature's 30th anniversary. Originally formed in 1982 as a research project at Durham University, Signature is now the UK's leading provider of accredited qualifications in sign language and other forms of deaf and deafblind communication.

The national winners will be announced during the prestigious 2012 Signature Annual Awards’ ceremony which will be held in London on Friday 2nd November. For more information on the awards visit the 2012 Signature Annual Awards website at www.signature.org.uk/awards.


The 2012 Signature Annual Awards’ National Shortlist

Young Learner of the Year nominees
Amber Nixon, Chloe Reynolds, Drew Oliver and Shannon Havern

Community Spirit nominees
Cornwall Deaf Centre, Hands 4 Voices, Jay Thomas-Morton and Niki Johnson

Organisational Achievement nominees
DCAL, Hearing Dogs for Deaf People, Life and Deaf Association and Scottish Council on Deafness

Communication Professional of the Year nominees
Clare Edwards, Kath Sykes, Nicola Small and Zane Hema    

Centre of the Year nominees
Communication Plus, John Townsend Trust, Merseyside Society for Deaf People and Sign and be ‘Heard’

Views: 61

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of FE Community to add comments!

© 2018   Created by FEnews.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service